application for camp america

Post Reply New Thread

application for camp america

RankRankRankRankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 148601

Joined 2003-09-20

hello everyone…
I’ve searched through the forums for advice, but couldnt find any…can anyone help me with my application for camp america? I just haven’t got a clue what sort of thing to write in my personal statement or how to word it etc?
Thanks!
Jimbo :D

Rank

Total Posts: 19

Joined 2006-08-30

Personally i would go with CCUSA! They pay you more and it costs less to go.

On your personal statement just be honest as they ask you about your experience in your interview. And use anything you’ve done like i take my disabled nan out on week end’s and I wrote that down even though it’s not something i do for a living or get paid for.

RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 478

Joined 2006-07-14

I would definitely agree, do not go to camp with camp america. I am just back from a brilliant summer at camp, but camp america were beyond useless. They messed up all my visa stuff, we had no idea about flights there or back until very close to departure, and i wasnt the only one at camp with these problems. Plus other organisations pay more Bunac, CCUSA, AWE all pay more money.
If u have any money left after camp go for trek america - absolutely amazing!!
as for your application stress your knowledge of working with kids, your energy and enthusiasm, your responsibility, your talents and skills which would be usefull at camp anything that will make u stand out as a good camp counsellor. Have a brilliant summer!

RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 392

Joined 2006-03-30

in regards to your personal statement write down every bit of interests hobbies ect i used to do a lot of pantomines n such when younger- not done it in years but i still put it down!! so literally nething like that, job experiance,  even if you went to guides or something like that?