In Over My Head, Trip Planning, Advice/Help Needed

Post Reply New Thread

In Over My Head, Trip Planning, Advice/Help Needed

Rank

Total Posts: 1

Joined 2017-03-12

Hi guys,
Not sure if this is the right way to do things. Im new to the whole forum message boards and havnt really used any but I’m in way over my head on this one and could use some proper advice and help.

Well to start off with, my name is Mike and I’m 28 years old from the UK. Im currently living in beautiful North Wales just outside Snowdonia National Park. Im not really a big traveller and until recently I was the type of person that kept saying “yeah, ill get my passport next month” and that carried on for years until finally I got offered to go away on an all inclusive 2 week holiday to Kizilot, Turkey with a couple of friends and their kids. After a boring 2 weeks sat round the pool I decided that my next trip would be something that I wanted to and sitting by a pool for 2 weeks wasn’t my idea of fun.

Well to cut a long story short, I got back home and started working on a trip just for me. I got myself fixed on doing a tour from Quito, Ecuador - La Paz, Bolivia. This would include an Amazon home stay, Hike the Inca trail to Machu Picchu and then over to La Paz to mountain bike the death road. I worked out a rough cost and I was coming in at around £6500 for the 35 day trip. Then while searching more I seen posts and blogs from different travellers saying that they travelled the world for £5000-10000. I decided that if I could Frow everything I to 1 trip then maybe it would work out better for me in the long run. I then researched a little into some destinations and activities I’d like to do.
Here is my lists that I finally stuck with..

Peru - Inca trail or Salkantay trek to Machu Picchu. Climb a mountain overlooking Machu Picchu. Somewhere in the region I want to do a rainforest trip. I either want to stay with a local family in the rainforest or do a trek with camping.