Best Rugged/waterproof camera

Post Reply New Thread

Best Rugged/waterproof camera

RankRankRankRankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 2027

Joined 2008-04-08

Hey guys, i know nothing about digi cams, although i am a bit of tech freak, im not really a camera sort of guy.

looking at camera’s for my RTW trip. what you guys think is the best digi cam. want something with loads of functions, but also want it to be rugged too, so i dont have to worry too much about it dropping in water, sand etc.

deleted-user

there is a new optio or something coming I have my eye on. does 720p hd recording too.. think its the w60
http://www.h20camera.com/camera/w60
theres another one I was looking at too.. ill see if i can track it down

deleted-user

maybe this one:
google:

Olympus 850SW

Im gonna see whats avail towards end of year, think ill get a waterproof/rugged one, and a cheap fuji ultraxzoomsmile

Joined 2008-04-08

cheers phil, think you talking about the pentax w60. its out. costs around £200, which isnt too bad. got my eye on that and the olmpus MJU 1030.

I dont leave until next feb, so prices will drop massivly, so im waiting too. just getting the ball rolling.

RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 278

Joined 2008-08-03

I can vouch for the Olympus mju 795sw, not the best optics, but definitely the toughest camera I have ever owned…..

Been used and abused, thrown around, deliberately!! Been in beer, cider, powder and surf! Absolutely amazing…. definitely advise for RTW trips!!

RankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 222

Joined 2008-01-16

just bought an olympus mju 830.