Salomon hiking shoes ? Any good ??

Post Reply New Thread

Salomon hiking shoes ? Any good ??

RankRankRankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 759

Joined 2008-06-23

I need to get some sharpish so I can wear them in before I go in 4 weeks.

Anyone tell me if they’re any good.. In particular these ones as I need to be as cheap as possible but not so cheap as they will fall apart or kill me.

Salomon Exit Aero Mens

Also if I am a size 9 trainer, should I get a 9.5 and some fast wick thick socks and when my feet expand I shall be comfortable ??

I know I should go to a shop to get fitted but they are expensive and I have no time as working every day :(

RankRankRankRankRankRankRank

Total Posts: 3928

Joined 2007-06-25

If you take the risk of buying a pair of hiking shoes without trying them on first then you’re asking for trouble.

On a practical note the Salomon shoes I bought in my size ended up a bit too small and I later found out that they often come up about half a size smaller than you’d expect (as in I needed to get a 5.5 instead of 5).

You don’t have to buy the shoes in a shop but if you don’t even try them on I really think you’re making a big mistake to be honest. There is NOTHING worse than uncomfortable shoes and once you’ve committed to a pair if they still don’t feel comfy after breaking them in, you have run out of time to get a new pair.

Please go and try some on, then buy them online. Aside from anything else your feet and gait is different to everyone else’s on here so one person may love these shoes, another person may hate them. TRY THEM ON!!!

Total Posts: 3009

Joined 2004-05-30

I love Salomon’s and have a pair exactly like these that I’ve used in China, Morocco, Tunisia and loads of walking in the UK. They really are comfortable, hard wearing, and no matter how slippery the terrain they stick like no other walking shoe. If I can’t get Salomon’s I like I always go for other brands but with Vibram soles.