Countries  »  Malta

Malta is a small archipelago in the Mediterranean Sea situated 95km south of Sicily and around 250km north of Libya. There are three inhabited islands (Malta, Gozo and Comino), and a number of smaller, uninhabited islands. Malta’s total area is only 317 sq km and the islands are predominantly low-lying, rocky terrain with rugged coastlines and numerous bays and inlets providing good harbours. Malta is known for its sparkling, pristine waters that provide picture-perfect backdrops for stunning white cliffs, gorgeous bays and unspoilt beaches.

Although small, Malta has a vast and rich history, with evidence for habitation going back to the Neolithic era (4th millennium B.C.). The country boasts some of the world's most ancient standing buildings (the Neolithic temples), and its strategic location and good harbours in the middle of the Mediterannean have attracted Phoenicians, Greeks, Romans, Arabs, Normans, Crusaders, the French and finally the British, with the colonial period lasting until 1964.

The capital, Valletta is located on the central eastern coast of the main island and is renowned for its Baroque architectural style and countless World Heritage Listed historical sites. The Mellieha area in the north is heaven for beach lovers, while bays like Golden Bay and Ghajn Tuffieha on the northwest coast are must-see destinations. The northern island of Gozo is less-populated but still loaded with museums, churches and ancient ruins. The tiny island of Comino, between Malta and Gozo, is best known for its Blue Lagoon and amazing diving and snorkelling sites.

Map of Malta

Malta Fact!

Malta Fact 1 Featured Image

In 1565 the Ottoman Empire sent an army to take Malta. The Turks were defeated by the Knights of Malta (the Order of St John); following the Great Siege the Knights fortified the island.

Malta Fact!

Malta is believed to have served as the site for the legendary city of Atlantis.