Visas for Nepal

Countries  »  Nepal  »  Visas

Visas for Nepal

Tourist Visa is available on arrival for citizens of most countries at the designated land borders (see below) and at a cost of currently:

US$ 25 for 15 days US$ 40 for 30 days US$ 100 for 90 days

Tourist visa can be granted for a maximum of 150 days in a visa year.

You can pay this on arrival also other convertible currencies like Euro, Pound Sterling, Australian Dollar. Although USD is always preferred and some smaller entry points (like Birgunj) may only accept USD.

All tourist Visa's are currently "multiple entry" type visa and permit multiple entries and exits during the period of validity.

Be aware that without permission voluntary services while on a tourist visa is strictly prohibited. It will be a punishable offense.

There is detailed information on the official website of the Nepal Immigration at [3], where you can download the tourist visa form.

On arrival, beside the Visa form, the disembarkation form and the payment, you have to produce a recent passport size photo to attach on the visa form. There is a kiosk at Kathmandu Airport before the visa issuing table where you can take photos for 5 US$.

To extend your tourist visa, visit the Nepal Immigration Office in Kathmandu with your passport and another photo, and pay USD$2 for every day past your visa you want to stay, up to the maximum of 150 days per year.

Points of entry or exit:

The point of entry and exit for tourist:

  1. Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu
  2. Kakarvitta, Jhapa (Eastern Nepal)
  3. Birganj, Parsa (Central Nepal)
  4. Kodari, Sindhupalchowk (Northern Border)
  5. Belahia, Bhairahawa (Rupandehi, Western Nepal)
  6. Jamunaha, Nepalgunj (Banke, Mid Western Nepal)
  7. Mohana, Dhangadhi (Kailali, Far Western Nepal)
  8. Gaddachauki, Mahendranagar (Kanchanpur, Far Western Nepal)

Visas are free for all tourists who come from a SAARC country. Indian nationals do not need a visa.

Nationals of Nigeria, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland, Cameroon, Somalia, Liberia, Ethiopia, Iraq, Palestine and Afghanistan are required to obtain Visa before arrival, as they are denied the right to "Visa on arrival" by Nepal.

Be aware if coming from India, 500 and 1000 Indian Rupee notes are not accepted in as circulation prohibited in Nepal. 

The content on this page is available under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 license. It has been written by the users of WikiTravel and cannot not accept any responsibility for its accuracy. For any critical information you require, please be sure to check with the relevant embassy for the most up to date information before you travel.